Groundhog Day was the first 'Time loop' movie that I have watched. I was completely fascinated by the idea. The movie portrays the time loop idea and how it affects the protagonist and others in a coherent and convincing way (mostly). It manged to be light heated and funny while deeply thought provoking at the same time. Though I was not completely satisfied with the ending, it stayed as one of my favorite movies.
I
have watched few other "Time loop" movies after that but none of them
stood out as particularly interesting. That is, until i watched "Source
Code". This movie turned this idea into a fast-paced thriller and also
gave a plausible scientific explanation to this strange phenomenon.
The other aspect of this movie that I very much enjoyed is it's puzzle like construction. It is difficult to figure out what's going on at the beginning but as the movie progresses the plot becomes more and more clear and at the end, everything fits together perfectly like a jigsaw puzzle.
When I re-watched the movie after a gap of 10 years, I was as engaged as the first time and also discovered many details I missed during the first watch.
One quibble I have with this movie is it's ending. It would have been a perfect ending if it stopped at the point where replay time reaches the 8 minute mark and everything freezes in a perfect moment. May be due to marketing purser, the creators had to extend it to give a happy ending at the cast of poking a big hole in the plot structure. The ending wasn't bad per se but does not fit in logically with the scientific theory the movie proposes.

Comments
Post a Comment